Connect is a rich Web communication system that lets instructors reach an audience anytime with engaging multimedia content. Because Connect is deployed using Adobe Flash Player, already installed on more than 98% of browsers, audiences can join Connect online meetings, courses, and presentations instantly. Connect can be used for distance learning, professional development, and collaboration.
Get Started with Adobe Connect for your online meetings
All faculty and staff have a Connect account and can request a "host" meeting role. A host can set up meetings, invite guests, manage content, and assign other roles to meeting attendees. To request the host role, you must be faculty or staff and have a valid career account login and password. Some accounts where a "Restricted Directory" request has been placed, do not have access to a Connect account
An Author role allows you to publish or upload content, including presentations, to the Content library. Content can include files created in Adobe Presenter, Captivate, or any other content uploaded to the Adobe Connect Content library.
Microphones & Camera Recommendations
We recommend that you obtain a USB headseat that you find comfortable. Headsets are available in multiple styles, including wired and wireless types, and some headsets will cover only one ear or both ears. The Plantronics website is a good place to start when looking for headsets.
If you are interested in adding video to your Connect meeting, if you do not have an integrated webcam with your computer, we recommend purchasing a USB webcam. One place to start looking for USB webcams is the Logitech website.
Student Meeting Rooms
Undergraduate and graduate students have a single meeting room that has been created for them. Students cannot create new meeting rooms. The best way to access your meeting room is to use the URL shown on your career account web page. Look in the Accounts List box on the left side; you will see a link to Your Adobe Connect Meeting.
Any student who is employed as a teaching assistant will lose their single meeting room and need to request the meeting host and author role, the same as faculty and staff. Once the student stops working as a teaching assistant, all meeting rooms will be deleted and the single student meeting room will be recreated.
Students have limited functionality and may see the message "Not Authorized. You do not have permission to access this item." when clicking on some menu options.